Trading Software/Hardware

It appears some of us are interested in the business of trading, hopefully for both fun and profit.
Here's a place to talk about that. I suggest two main categories. How to trade (timeless), and what are you trading now, and why, and how it turned out. Those tend to be missing from the pro boards, so pundits can have selective memory....but that's not all that is important. Being wrong is part of the game, and how to handle it and make money anyway is crucial, for just one example.
Forum rules
The usual. Be nice, be informative, tell it like it is.

Trading Software/Hardware

Postby David McKee » Fri May 02, 2014 9:24 am

I would like to start this thread on what sorts of trading software and hardware people use, and (of more interest to myself as a Software Engineer) what sorts of Open Source Platforms people have used to build their trading systems - rules engines, displays, etc.

As I am just getting into this area and learning all I can about both Trading markets (of which this forum is a plethora of great information) and the types of software out there to perform trading. I am also interested in the strategies people employ in trading - news event based (complex event systems), understanding of mass human behaviors in trading, and opinions of so-called "Technical Analysis".

I was not sure if this was the best place for this topic, or the software forum, so Doug, if you think it should be moved, please do so.

With that, I am currently looking a a few existing platforms (Eclipse Trader - as I am an avid used of the Eclipse/Spring STS development platforms and Java), Merchant of Venice, Open Java Trading System, and Drools Rule-engine. There are many others and I have a pretty neat list which I basically stole from several searches across a bunch of site (and I will post if anyone is interested).

As this is a forum of builders and do-ers, I am earnestly waiting for your experiences/advice etc.