need help with making ink sticks

Tips and descriptions of materials you use

need help with making ink sticks

Postby Nick Strait » Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:10 pm

okay i have a really odd project, i mentioned in the intro section that im a artist trying to make Nara sumi stick ink, its a extremely traditional ink thats in a solid form thats ground down and thinned with water that has been more or less considered the best ink in the world for several hundred years, also its exact way of making has been kept a secret that long... the problem is its almost impossible to obtain outside japan and also there only 2 companies i know of that still make it that are still in business.. sooo im going to give you all the information i can possibly think of ans see if you have any idea for making it..
ill start with showing you a bleed of some of the inks
the top left is a mid grade buku undo stick, it has two separate bleeds one light and one dark, but whats weird is they dont touch, something about them keeps the ink from bleeding together in the middle and blending, but what makes it midgrade is the edge of the dark bleed is darker so it makes adding new layers kinda weird(but still great .
the middle left is the highest grade boku undo ink stick i have, it has a slightly colder hiue to it and doesnt have the ridge of darker along the bleeds
the top right is Parker Quink(fountain pen ink), its pretty interesting since its black ink and bleeds out orange and blue with a fractal type of look.
middle left is PH Martins Black Star Hi Carb ink, similar to the quink but super even uniform bleeds
the bottom left is golden panda ink from china, its really low quality so much that its actually pretty good