Spinning metal

Stuff you made and how to make cool stuff

Spinning metal

Postby Joe Jarski » Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:55 pm

I'm just beginning to get started on my fusor and thought it'd be convenient if I could make my own hemispheres or whatever else I might need to make. So I decided to try and take a shot at spinning some parts. This is my first try - it's spun from 3003 aluminum, .050" thick. The finish is excellent - it looks like it's been buffed. The material is too thin at the edge so I need a little more practice at controlling how the metal flows, but it's a start. I have some 304 SS on the way also to see how that works.
IMG_1465s.JPG
Joe Jarski

Re: Spinning metal

Postby JonathanH13 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 4:06 am

Wow! Nice work Joe. Presumably you formed this over some sort of mandrel? Can you tell us about that - was it made from wood? Sounds like the metal experienced some radial elongation, if the lip is thinner than the original thickness. And there is no hole in the centre, so you must have pressure clamped it?
JonathanH13

Postby Joe Jarski » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:08 am

I formed it over a mandrel made from RenShape which is a polyurethane substitute for wood. The sheet was clamped with the tailstock against the mandrel and then worked from there. Once I get a little more practice I should be able to reduce the thinning. I had a few other indicators besides that that I was using too much pressure also, but I'm kind of working in an awkward position right now because of the tool post height. Once I make a few changes I should have better control and more leverage - I'm going to need it for the stainless. I'll post some pictures of my setup when I get a chance.
Joe Jarski

Postby Doug Coulter » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:32 am

Not sure how much it matters for this, but last time I bought 304 for a vacuum system I messed up and got 304, rather than 304-L (the low carbon version) and that was much harder to work with.