gasturbine with turbocharger

Stuff you made and how to make cool stuff

gasturbine with turbocharger

Postby segelfam » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:45 am

Hi,
after building a very small but working pulse jet
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FX6hDPiWGDg
I want to try a gasturbine with a car turbo charger, but I don't have much experience with this kind of machines. Has anyone here advices what mistakes can be made. I want to make the machine as small as possible because I'm not interessted in high thrust, only a machine for demonstration.
Has anyone experience how big the combustion chamber should be at least for self substained operation. The turbo charger is a rather small modell for VW Jetta

Best regard and a happy new year

Thomas
segelfam

Re: gasturbine with turbocharger

Postby chrismb » Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:18 am

Is this for exhaust thrust, or torque to a prop-shaft?

I have no experience mechanically, but I have a watching brief on some of the latest 'range-extender' turbo-props for electric cars. Disclosable things in the public domain are, for example, an Israeli firm that has started offering turbo-gen sets for cars, and Jaguar has just unveiled a concept electric car with two 100kW or so turbo-prob gen sets in the boot (not sure if they are from that Israeli company!). They are very small devices. I have always considered this the way for cars to go, with some mods [that I can mention later].

I'll dig out some of those, just for interest (even if it doesn't quite help inform you, I think you may be interested in the tech).

I did also dig out a link to some guy who built some turbo-based thrust devices. I'll see if I can unearth it again. I was debating if I have the skills/ideas to make a lifting platform out of car turbos, and I think that guy had the same idea.
chrismb

Postby segelfam » Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:24 am

Hi Chrismb